Putrajaya is a planned city, 25 km south of Kuala Lumpur, that serves as the federal administrative centre of Malaysia. The seat of government was shifted in 1999 from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya, due to overcrowding and congestion in the Kuala Lumpur area. Nevertheless, Kuala Lumpur remains Malaysia's national capital, being the seat of the King and Parliament, as well as the country's commercial and financial centre. Putrajaya was the brainchild of former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammad. In 2001, Putrajaya became Malaysia's third Federal Territory after Kuala Lumpur and Labuan.

Named after the first Malaysian Prime Minister, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra, the city is within the Multimedia Super Corridor, beside the recently developed Cyberjaya. In Sanskrit, "putra" means "prince" or "male child", and "jaya" means "success" or "victory". The development of Putrajaya started in early 1990s, and today major landmarks have been completed and the population is expected to grow in the near future.

Public buildings

Perdana Putra – office of the Prime Minister
Seri Perdana – official residence of the Prime Minister
Sri Satria - official residence of the Deputy Prime Minister
Palace of Justice
Putrajaya Ministry of Finance
Wisma Putra – Malaysian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Melawati National Palace
Istana Darul Ehsan
Putrajaya Convention Centre
Perdana Leadership Foundation
Heritage Square
Selera Putra
Souq Putrajaya
Pusat Kejiranan Presint 9
Pusat Kejiranan Presint 16
Putra Mosque
Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin Mosque (Iron Mosque (Masjid Besi))


Putrajaya Landmark
Millennium Monument
National Heroes Square

Open space

Putrajaya Lake
Putrajaya Independence Square
Putrajaya Wetlands Park
Taman Selatan
Putrajaya Botanical Gardens - The biggest botanical garden in Malaysia, covering an area over 92 hectares

View map